Hilary Standish
arrow

Hi, would you like to schedule an online tutoring session with me?

Ask Question
  • Hilary Standish

Citizen Science Instructor @ Seattle Aquarium
Biology @ Florida Atlantic University, Class of 20...
I can tutor , , ,
Grade: Middle School, High School, College
Show More

About Hilary

I started teaching and tutoring in biology, chemistry, and math while working towards my Master's degree. I am very enthusiastic about the sciences and excellent at coming up with creative ways to explain concepts. I became known for my ability to adapt my teaching style to best meet the needs of my students and for always being patient, considerate, amd compassionate.  I love teaching and working together with my students to find answers. 

I am always looking for opportunities to learn and to improve my teaching skills, and believe this is what makes me an excellent tutor.  As a dedicated lifelong learner, I am always on top of the latest science and teaching methods. I am also extremely flexible, and 100% dedicated to student success and satisfaction. I am not fixed in my methods, but rather can come up with new methods and explanations on the fly to ensure student comprehension. 

EDUCATION & CERTIFICATES

Bachelor

Earlham Colege
2008 - 2012

Master

Florida Atlantic University
2014 - 2016

Identity Document

Provided

Criminal Record Check

Provided

WORK EXPERIENCE

Citizen Science Instructor

Seattle Aquarium
Feb 2017 - Present

Adjunct Faculty

Indian River State College
Aug 2015 - Nov 2016

Technical Lab Support Specialist

Indian River State College
Aug 2014 - Aug 2016

Specialities

My education and professonal background is in ecology and biology, and I am obviously happy to tutor in those areas.  I also tutored extensively in college-level chemistry, introductory physics, algebra 1, geometry, SAT math, and statistics.  In fact, I was most sought-after for my ability to tutor statistics, which is an area of math many people struggle with.  

In addition, I also write creatively in my spare time, and love helping others with their own writing.  Even though I was a Biology major, I used to edit my (English major) roommate's papers for her, and still enjoy giving feedback on written works, creative or otherwise.